The Final Chapter

“In the planning stage of a book, don’t plan the ending. It has to be earned by all that will go before it.”

― Rose Tremain

I believe Tremain’s quote can also be applied to the journey through UOSM2008. When I wrote my introduction to this module and completed my self-evaluation task, I could merely speculate what the ending would be like 4 months later. Now the ending is here, however, and I truly feel as though it has been earned.

Every week was challenging, thought-provoking and extremely rewarding. Through the process of weekly blogging I have gained both knowledge and practical skills. In this final post, I will start by reflecting upon the knowledge I have gained followed by the practical skills.

In order to portray the knowledge I have gained, I decided to make this website which features each topic on a different page.

Along with an abundance of theoretical information regarding the digital world, UOSM2008 has equipped me with valuable practical skills. As Figure 1 illustrates, over the course this module my digital literacy has significantly improved.

chart

Figure 1

At the start of this journey I had stated that my evaluation of online content could be improved.  I believe I have achieved this by approaching a wide range of sources with a more critical outlook.  I also tried to comment on blog posts that shared different views compared to me, in order to enhance my debating skills.

With regards to participation in online communities, I had expressed a desire to improve my LinkedIn and twitter accounts. Topic 3 enabled me to put the theory into action and my LinkedIn profile went from what you can see in Figure 2, to what you can see in the slideshow beneath it.

LinkedIn before.PNG

Figure 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I made more than 100 new connections, included the transferable skills that I gained from each job, uploaded a more professional-looking picture, included a brief summary of myself, added links to certificates and projects, joined groups of interest, and recommended colleagues.

In addition, I created an about.me page which incorporates all the social media platforms that I am currently active on, as well as my personal blog. I also created a profile on vine, for a bit of fun and creativity. This can be seen on my twitter profile, which I also updated. As Figure 4 shows, I used the same professional photo as I used for LinkedIn in order to maintain consistency and authenticity. I also included a cover photo with a personal logo that I created, to give it an extra touch of professionalism.

tw

tw2

Figure 4

The topics on online privacy and security, made me re-think about my current settings. I concluded that I want to portray a more professional image throughout my social media networks. Thus, I used the same picture for facebook, and updated my privacy settings, as can be seen in Figure 5. I also googled myself in order to check my digital footprint, but thankfully found nothing alarming.

fb.PNG

Figure 5

By collaborating with colleagues and following areas of interest on twitter, I have managed to expand my network. I also tried to reach out to people whose work I had drawn upon for my blog posts, such as Sarah Santacroce. Moreover, I proceeded to tweet about relevant information such as an upcoming event or a relevant article.

As far as reach goes, by consistently blogging and sharing my work, I was able to significantly increase the views of my blog. As Figure 6 illustrates, this reach goes as far as New Zealand!

views.PNG

Figure 6

Furthermore, by incorporating various means of presenting information, such as prezi, powtoon, haiku, or piktochart, I have learned how to portray information in a more interactive and engaging manner whilst enhancing my creativity. The powtoon I created for Topic 4 is a good illustration of this point.

On a final note, this prezi I created, presents how I will take these learned skills into the future. If anything, this feels more like a new beginning rather than an end!

gfgj.PNG

References:

Customer Data: Designing for Transparency and Trust. (2015). Harvard Business Review, from https://hbr.org/2015/05/customer-data-designing-for-transparency-and-trust

Prensky, M. (2001). Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants Part 1. On The Horizon, 9(5), 1-6.http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/10748120110424816

LinkedIn: numbers of members 2015 | Statistic. (2016). Statista. Retrieved 9 March 2016, from http://www.statista.com/statistics/274050/quarterly-numbers-of-linkedin-members/

White, D., & Le Cornu, A. (2011). Visitors and Residents: A new typology for online engagement. First Monday, 16(9). http://dx.doi.org/10.5210/fm.v16i9.3171

 

Leave a Reply

